A Healthier Halloween

This post is part of the monthly link up party Our Growing Edge. This event aims to connect food bloggers and inspire us to try new things. This month is hosted by Arfotografie at We Must Be Dreamers.

our-growing-edge-badge

 

I wanted to share some of my go-to treats for this time of year. Of course since I love making things and cooking, etc, I have plenty of other treats I put together, but these are a few that are the most simple and always easy, even if I’m pressed for time….like now!

So I thought I would give my readers these treats just in time for Halloween!

First there are “Spider Bites” with my Simple Avocado Dip (which I love!). Then “Vampire Mouths” made with apples and almond butter, and a festive Pumpkin Pie Smoothie.

They are healthier than candy, but you’ll still feel like you’re indulging, and you will be…..plus, the treats turn out pretty cute, I think.

So, I hope you enjoy these and Have a Most Wicked & Happy Halloween!!

And don’t worry, I’ve included pictures so you can see how things are put together 😉

 halloweentreats

Spider Bites

Ingredients:

  • Baked chips with sea salt (brand of your choice)
  • Organic black olives
  • My homemade avocado dip

For the dip:

  • 3 large ripe avocados
  • ½ lime
  • 1 ½ teaspoons fine sea salt

In a medium bowl, combine peeled avocados, squeezed lime and sea salt, mix (with a spoon or a small immersion blender) all ingredients until creamy smooth. You may taste as you go and add a bit more lime or salt, depending on your taste (I always do that, so my measurements tend to be approximate!).

For the spiders:

Take your black olives, slice them in half from top to bottom, using one half for the body (see pics). Take the other half of the olive you just sliced and slice it in further long slivers to make the legs. Arrange everything by putting a dollop of dip on the chips and then adding your spiders.

halloweentreats2

Vampire Mouths

Ingredients:

  • Red delicious apples
  • Organic almond butter
  • Almond slivers (in the baking isle usually)
  • Mini marshmallows

 

Simply cut the apples into wedges (one apple can usually yield about 6 wedges), pair up the wedges so they fit then apply almond butter to the inside surface, line up a few marshmallows for teeth and place the almond slivers in between as fangs. Now put the apples together like a sandwich and enjoy!

 

 gt02octmsl_pumpkinshake_xl

Healthy Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 cup unsweetened canned pumpkin puree
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 2 medium-sized frozen sliced bananas
  • 1 teaspoon pure maple syrup (or to taste)*
  • 1 tablespoon hemp seed

Combine all the ingredients in your high power blender and blend until creamy smooth! Feel free to add your favorite protein powder to it if you like. I use vanilla when I include it.

*You can also use honey, pure stevia drops or just extra banana for added sweetness.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. The black olive spiders are great!

    This post would make a great addition to Our Growing Edge, a monthly blog link up just for new food adventures. It’s a fun way to share your new food experiences with other foodies. This month’s theme is HALLOWEEN which includes sweet and spooky food, pumpkins or black and orange dishes.

    More info including how to submit your link here: http://bunnyeatsdesign.com/our-growing-edge/

    Like

  2. arfotografie says:

    Hi Mahella, actually this month is hosted by me over at wemustbedreamers.com. Please make sure to update it in the post 🙂 I´m currently working on the round up and would love to include your content. Thanks!

    Like

    1. T.M. says:

      Hi!
      Sorry about that! I was a little confused since I’ve never participated before, but I think I have it corrected now. At least it’s linked to wemustbedreamers.com with your page name as Arfotographie 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

